Snowpacalypse and Other Assorted Thoughts

I am sitting here in Arlington, VA on December 19th. I should be at Dulles International Airport right now with an hour left to go before my flight. However, the weather did not cooperate.

My flight to New York was canceled, and since there is only one flight from NY to Portland, Oregon I was forced to change my flight to tomorrow. Luckily, I was able to do that over the phone yesterday, so  I did not have to deal with the insanity that I am sure is the airport today. It sucks because tomorrow is my mom’s birthday, and I will not get into Portland until 11:00 PM. It also sucks becaues I had it worked out with a friend to give me a ride to Dulles (it’s about 35 miles), but he has other commitments tomorrow so I have to take the Super Shuttle. Oh well. There should not be any problems tomorrow.

It is Christmas time so you know what that means – parties. At work there were plenty of parties. On Tuesday we had our media Christmas party. That is where those of us in the media department schmooze with media and make as many contacts as we can. It was a fun time. After I left that party, I cabbed home and got right in my car to drive over to a restaurant in Alexandria for another friend’s birthday party. Another good time. On Wednesday it was time for the all-staff Christmas party. That was a great time. It is always fun to see coworkers in a setting other than work. Over the past year I have gotten to know a lot of people at work, so there was never a shortage of people to talk to so I stayed until the party ended and hen went to the bar across the street with a bunch of friends. Yesterday, we had a small department party (our department is will be very different next year with several employees, including me, changing departments). It was a fun farewell to my former department, and we got a few Christmas gifts. A colleague, and friend, of mine had his last day at Heritage so we went back to the bar for some farewell drinks with my new boss and team (as of 1/4).

2009 proved to be a great year. Expanded my role at work, had some really big projects, and met a lot of new people. I was able to travel a lot too. I went to NY several times (I don’t really know how many times. Maybe 4 or 5), went to Pittsburgh for the first time and I got to go to home to CA 3 times. Tomorrow I will make it to Oregon and Washington state. A lot of airplane flights, a lot of delays, and a lot of time at the airport. I accomplished my goal of adding 1000 songs to my iPod. I actually added 1,100 with a week and a few days left to add more. I am currently sitting at just over 4100 songs. I still have 53 MB to fill, but I have surpassed 20 MB of music, so that’s good. I made it to 3 concerts (two in DC and one in LA). I didn’t go to a lot of concerts because there is only one person I like seeing in concert and he only came to DC once. I went to a lot of baseball games. I think I got to 5 or 6 games at Nationals Stadium and 3 at Camden Yards in Baltimore. I also made it to a Capitals game and a LA Kings game.

2010 should be another great year. I will have a new role at work, a new boss, and a new job title. Everyone is excited about the change at work and so am I. I will have a bigger responsibility with e-mail products as well as the day to day updating of the Web site. On top of that I will be able to do more bloggin which is great because, although, it may not look like it on this site, but I love to blog. We will see what the future holds, but I am hopeful that it will be good.

2 Comments »

  1. Melanie said

    Wow … you had A LOT of parties to attend! Sounds like a blast!!! I’m glad that this year is ending so well for you and that there is great promise for the new one.

    I miss you.

    Melanie

  2. […] all started on Thursday, December 17th. That was when I first learned of the snowstorm that would paralyze the entire Eastern Seaboard on the 19th. This had me concerned because my flight was on the 19th. I rebooked for Sunday and […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

