Summer is Here. No One Told the Weather Though

Those that no me in DC are probably tired of me constantly complaining about the weather. I can’t help it though. Coming from Southern California I expect certain things from summer. I expect it to be clear skies and sunny. That’s easy right? Well, apparently in DC, it’s next to impossible. Nearly everyday It is raining, or there is the threat of rain overhead. When it gets cloudy, it gets humid. When it rains when it is humid, it because a sauna outside. It is not comfortable at all, especially when you are doing strenuous things like play softball.

I am looknig out my window right now and if I didn’t no any better I would think it was winter outside with the dark clouds covering the entire sky and the wet ground. The illusion of winter quickly vanishes though as soon as you step outside. The hot air is so thick, you could cut it with a knife. It causes your close to stick to you and it stays a nasty temperature 24 hours a day. Nothing about it is enjoyable. how people can like it is completely foreign to me. If you do like it, that means you have never experienced a dry heat. It makes a world of difference.

Sure, it gets over 100 degrees in the summer in CA, but that is only during the day. Around 3 or 4 it starts to cool off, and it gets down to about 80 degrees with a cool breeze. Summer nights in CA are perfect for going out, playing sports, or campfires. Summer nights in DC are atrocious. No relief for the constant heat of the humidity. The AC stays on all night. As soon as the AC gets to the temperature I set it to, it shuts off…for about 30 seconds before it has to start again. In CA, you can turn the AC off at night and open a window and be perfectly comfortable.

Let me also take this opportunity to talk about Searsuckers – I don’t like them.

1 Comment »

  1. Brady said

    Hey Todd,

    It is very nice here. For some strange reason, it’s not getting too hot either. Hovering around 88-90 during the day. I think it has to do with El Nino. Supposedly, we’re are in for a really weird fall/winter season. Well, enough rubbing it in. Hope all is well.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

